Monday, November 11, 2013

Myers gives Rays 3rd AL Rookie of Year in 6 years

Outfielder Wil Myers won the AL Rookie of the Year award, giving the Rays their third winner in the last six years.

Third baseman Evan Longoria won in 2008 and pitcher Jeremy Hellickson was the 2011 winner.

Myers received 23 of a possible 30 first-place votes. Rays pitcher Chris Archer finished third with Detroit shortstop Jose Inglesias second.

Archer, Longoria and Hellickson are former Biscuits.

Myers, in just 88 games, hit .293 with 13 home runs and an AL rookie-best 53 RBIs. The 22-year-old came to Tampa Bay in a trade last winter from the Kansas City Royals.

No comments: