Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Hot Rods should win game protest

Bowling Green had an interesting play in Tuesday's loss to West Michigan, a play that should lead to a winning protest.

The Hot Rods had the bases loaded in the fifth inning with one out and trailed 4-3. The hitter hit a line drive into the right-center gap. The runners on second and third tagged up, but the runner on first did not.

The outfielder made a diving catch (second out), though none of the runners thought he did. All of the runners take off and safely cross the plate.

West Michigan appeals to second, saying the runner left early. No, he tagged up. West Michigan appeals to first, saying the runner left early. He did -- third out.

So, how many runs score? Correct answer: two. Umpires' answer: none. From rulebook scripture 4.09 (b) ...

APPROVED RULING: One out, Jones on third, Smith on first, and Brown flies out to right field. Two outs. Jones tags up and scores after the catch. Smith attempted to return to first but the right fielder’s throw beat him to the base. Three outs. But Jones scored before the throw to catch Smith reached first base, hence Jones’ run counts. It was not a force play.

The Hot Rods protested and eventually lost 6-3.

WEDNESDAY UPDATE: Hot Rods win protest.

No comments: