Saturday, September 21, 2013

Astros, Royals had most minor league champs

The Houston Astros and Kansas City Royals each had two of their minor league teams win championships this season.
The Astros, who had six teams reach the postseason, celebrated titles by Quad Cities (low-Class A Midwest League) and Tri-City (short-season Class A New York-Penn League). The Royals batted 1.000 on their playoff teams with Omaha (Triple-A Pacific Coast League) and Idaho Falls (Rookie-level Pioneer League) taking championships.

The other 12 domestic minor leagues had their champions come from 12 different organizations. Here are the champions, listed by parent team ...
Astros: Quad Cities, low-A Midwest; Tri-City, short-season New York-Penn
Royals: Omaha, Triple-A Pacific Coast; Idaho Falls, Rookie Pioneer
Angels: Inland Empire, high-A California
Blue Jays: Vancouver, short-season Northwest
Cubs: Daytona, high-A Florida State
Giants: AZL, Rookie league
Mariners: Pulaski, Rookie Appalachian
Mets: Savannah, low-A South Atlantic
Nationals: GCL, Rookie league
Padres: San Antonio, Double-A Texas
Tampa Bay: Durham, Triple-A International
Red Sox: Salem, high-A Carolina
White Sox: Birmingham, Double-A Southern
Yankees: Trenton, Double-A Eastern


No comments: