Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Davis, Royster receive top Rays honors

The Tampa Bay Devil Rays picked Montgomery's Wade Davis as their minor-league pitcher of the year and Class A Columbus' Ryan Royster as the organization's player of the year.

Davis was a combined 10-3 with an organization-best 2.50 ERA in 158 1/3 innings between Vero Beach and Montgomery this year. Royster won the organizational Triple Crown: .329 average, 30 home runs and 98 RBIs.

The individual team awards ...
Durham -- pitcher Jeff Niemann, outfielder Justin Ruggiano
Montgomery -- pitcher Chris Mason, third baseman Evan Longoria
Vero Beach -- pitcher Jake McGee, first baseman Rhyne Hughes
Columbus -- pitcher Heath Rollins, center fielder Desmond Jennings
Hudson Valley -- pitcher Alex Cobb, center fielder Emeel Salem
Princeton -- pitcher Jeremy Hall, infielder Omar Luna

inaugural Erik Walker Community Champion Award -- third baseman Patrick Cottrell, who was with Vero and Montgomery this year
(award named for Erik Walker, the pitcher who died last October in a canoeing accident, to recognize teamwork, sportsmanship and community involvement)

Tampa Bay included its Dominican and Venezuelan teams.
Dominican -- Juan Santana (3-4, 1.05 ERA), Ramon Novas (.313, 33 RBIs)
Venezuelan -- Omar Bencomo (2-3, 2.89 ERA), Julio Cedeno (.300, 32 RBIs)

No comments: