Thursday, September 06, 2012

Dodgers, Mariners, Rockies have 4 in playoffs

Midnight Thursday update: Missoula is playoff-bound in the Pioneer League, so the Diamondbacks now have four.

The Rays have three minor league teams in the playoffs, but there are three organizations -- and there might be a fourth -- with more.

The Dodgers, Mariners and Rockies each have four affiliates battling for league championships. The Diamondbacks' team in the Pioneer League plays its regular-season finale Thursday night and could give Arizona a fourth.

Only one organization failed to reach the postseason: the Los Angeles Angels.

Three teams have both their Triple-A and Double-A teams going: the Dodgers, Diamondbacks and Yankees.

4 playoff teams
Diamondbacks: Triple-A Reno, Double-A Mobile, short-season Yakima, short-season Missoula
Dodgers: Triple-A Albuquerque, Double-A Chattanooga, short-season Ogden, AZL
Mariners: Double-A Jackson, Class A's High Desert, Clinton, short-season Everett
Rockies: Double-A Tulsa, Class A's Modesto, Asheville, short-season Grand Junction

A's: Triple-A Sacramento, low-Class A Burlington, short-season AZL
Astros: Double-A Corpus Christi, high-Class A Lancaster, short-season Tri-City
Blue Jays: Class A's Dunedin, Lansing, short-season Vancouver
Braves: Class A's Lynchburg, Rome, short-season Danville
Cardinals: Double-A Springfield, short-season Johnson City, GCL
Rangers: Double-A Frisco, high-Class A Myrtle Beach, short-season AZL
Rays: Double-A Montgomery, low-Class A Bowling Green, short-season Hudson Valley
Royals: Triple-A Omaha, high-Class A Wilmington, short-season Burlington
White Sox: Triple-A Charlotte, high-Class A Winston-Salem, short-season Great Falls

Cubs: short-season Boise, AZL
Indians: Double-A Akron, low-Class A Lake County
Marlins: Class A's Jupiter, Greensboro
Mets: high-Class A St. Lucie, short-season Brooklyn
Nationals: low-Class A Hagerstorn, short-season Auburn
Padres: Class A's Lake Elsinore, Fort Wayne
Pirates: Triple-A Indianapolis, short-season GCL
Red Sox: Triple-A Pawtucket, short-season GCL
Tigers: high-Class A Lakeland, short-season GCL
Twins: low-Class A Beloit, short-season elizabethton
Yankees: Triple-A Empire State, Double-A Trenton

Brewers: low-Class A Wisconsin
Giants: high-Class A San Jose
Orioles: Double-A Bowie
Phillies: Double-A Reading
Reds: high-Class A Bakersfield


*--The Pioneer League finishes its regular season Thursday night. Billings (Reds) trails Missoula (Diamondbacks) by one game and the two play each other.

No comments: