Monday, September 03, 2012

Former Auburn All-American wins Southern League MVP

Huntsville Stars first baseman Hunter Morris, a former Auburn All-American, won the Southern League most valuable player award.

Morris, a Huntsville native, leads the league with 28 home runs and 113 RBIs and is fourth with a .303 average entering today's season finale against the Biscuits.

"Throw in the pressure of playing at home, in front of family, frends and relatives, and it's been a special, special year for him," Stars manager Darnell Coles said Sunday. "He went about his business the right way.

"Coming into the year, everyone could see his potential with the bat, but he also put a lot of work in on defense and really improved, which allowed him to relax and be even better offensively."

Morris is the fifth Huntsville Star to win Southern League MVP and the first since 2003. (The Biscuits have had three in their nine years and the Rebels had one: Alan Trammell in 1977.) Other league MVP Stars: Jose Canseco (1985), Terry Steinbach (1986), Ben Grieve (1997) and Corey Hart (2003).

2012: Hunter Morris, Huntsville Stars
2011: Paul Goldschmidt, Mobile BayBears
2010: Dave Sappelt, Carolina Mudcats
2009: Desmond Jennings, Montgomery Biscuits
2008: Gaby Sanchez, Carolina Mudcats
2007: Evan Longoria, Montgomery Biscuits
2006: Joey Votto, Chattanooga Lookouts
2005: Delmon Young, Montgomery Biscuits
2004: Richard Lewis, West Tenn Diamond Jaxx
2003: Corey Hart, Huntsville Stars
2002: Aaron Miles, Birmingham Barons
2001: Josh Phelps, Tennessee Smokies
2000: Joe Crede, Birmingham Barons
1999: Brady Clark, Chattanooga Lookouts
1998: Gabe Kapler, Jacksonville Suns
1997: Ben Grieve, Huntsville Stars
1996: Derrek Lee, Memphis Chicks
1995: Jason Kendall, Carolina Mudcats
1994: Mark Johnson, Carolina Mudcats
1993: Carlos Delgado, Knoxville Smokies
1992: Javy Lopez, Greenville Braves
1991: Ryan Klesko, Greenville Braves
1990: Jeff Conine, Memphis Chicks
1989: Eric Anthony, Columbus Mudcats
1988: Matt Winters, Memphis Chicks
1987: Tom Dodd, Charlotte O's
1986: Terry Steinbach, Huntsville Stars
1985: Jose Canseco, Huntsville Stars
1984: Andres Galarraga, Jacksonville Expos
1983: John Morris, Jacksonville Suns
1982: Brian Dayett, Nashville Sounds
1981: Tim Laudner, Orlando Twins
1980: Steve Balboni, Nashville Sounds
1979: Danny Heep, Columbus Astros; Alan Knicely, Columbus Astros (co-winners)
1978: Eddie Gates, Memphis Chicks
1977: Alan Trammell, Montgomery Rebels
1976: Larry Foster, Knoxville Sox
1975: Mike Squires, Knoxville Sox
1974: Nyles Nyman, Knoxville Sox
1973: Jayson Moxey, Columbus Astros
1972: Mike Reinbach, Asheville Tourists

No comments: