Wednesday, September 07, 2011

Trout outruns Moore for Baseball America award

Outfielder Mike Trout won Baseball America's minor league player of the year award, nudging out former Biscuits pitcher Matt Moore.

Trout spent most of the season with Double-A Arkansas in the Los Angeles Angels' organization. He hit .326 and scored 82 runs in 91 games. He had 42 extra-base hits and 38 RBIs.

Moore was among those highly considered for the award, which went to Jeremy Hellickson last year.

By the way, Moore is the first pitcher on record (since 1988) to record 200 strikeouts in consecutive seasons, according to MLB Advanced Media. He totaled 210 (131 with Montgomery and 79 with Durham).

Moore did fail at one thing this year. After winning the minor league strikeout title the last two years, he came in at a mere-mortal second this season. Class A Modesto's Edwar Cabrera had 217.

No comments: