Monday, September 26, 2011

Vogt, Moore, Hall land Rays' top minor league awards

Catcher Stephen Vogt and left-hander Matt Moore, who started the season with the Biscuits before July promotions to Triple-A Durham, have been named Tampa Bay's minor league player and pitcher of the year.

Vogt hit .298 with 17 home runs and 105 RBIs in 128 games between the Biscuits and Bulls. Moore was a combined 12-3 with a 1.92 ERA.

Charlotte infielder Matt Hall, who played at Auburn, won the organization's Erik Walker Community Champion Award, which recognizes teamwork, sportsmanship and community involvement. Erik Walker was a minor league pitcher for the Rays who died in October 2006 in a canoeing accident.

The Rays also named most valuable players for each of their affiliates.
Durham: utility Russ Canzler
Montgomery: Vogt
Charlotte: shortstop Hak-Ju Lee
Bowling Green: shortstop Derek Dietrich
Hudson Valley: first baseman Jeff Malm
Princeton: outfielder Drew Vettleson
GCL: right-hander Roberto Gomez
Dominican: infielder Adderly Rosa
Venezuela: catcher Oscar Hernandez

Best defensive player: Lee
Best baserunner: Charlotte infielder Tyler Bortnick
Best relief pitcher: Bowling Green left-hander Chris Rearick

Other Erik Walker nominees
Durham: Russ Canzler
Montgomery: Paul Phillips
Bowling Green: Austin Hubbard
Hudson Valley: Andrew Bellatti
Princeton: Drew Vettleson

All-time Erik Walker winners
2011: Matt Hall
2010: Stephen Vogt
2009: Ryan Wiegand
2008: Matt Spring
2007: Patrick Cottrell

No comments: