Sunday, May 05, 2013

Durham Bulls throw first no-hitter since 2006

Four Durham pitchers combined on a no-hitter in Sunday's 2-1 win at Pawtucket.

Jake Odorizzi (3-0) threw seven shutout innings with four walks and three strikeouts before Frank De Los Santos, Kirby Yates and Jeff Beliveau finished it.

Yates walked the first two batters in the bottom of the ninth before a bunt and sacrifice fly gave Pawtucket a run without benefit of a hit.

De Los Santos got two outs in the eighth and walked two, while Yates got three outs with two walks. Beliveau struck out the game's final batter for his first save.

The Bulls last pitched a no-hitter on July 16, 2006, when Jason Hammel and Juan Salas combined on one in a 4-1 win over Columbus.

Odorizzi was part of a no-hitter Aug. 24, 2010, while with low-Class A Wisconsin in the Midwest League. He threw the first eight innings, walked one and struck out 10 in a 3-0 win over Cedar Rapids. Adrian Rosario, who began this season at Double-A Binghamton (Mets), pitched the ninth.

Below are the complete-game no-hitters thrown in the Rays organization. (Today's nor Hammel/Salas' count on this list.)

Jason Standridge: June 28, 1999, Charleston (7 innings)
Doug Waechter: Aug 10, 2000, Hudson Valley (9)
Gerardo Garcia: May 22, 2002, Orlando (9)
Chad Gaudin: July 15, 2003, Orlando, perfect game (7)
Wade Davis: Aug 31, 2006, Southwest Michigan (7)
Wade Davis: May 4, 2007, Vero Beach (7)
Matt Moore: June 6, 2009, Bowling Green (7)
Matt Garza: July 26, 2010, Tampa Bay (9)
Matt Moore: June 16, 2011, Montgomery (9)
Victor Mateo: July 8, 2011, Bowling Green (7)

No comments: